Surrender of Surinam

11th August 1799 - 20th August 1799
Part of : The Fourth Anglo-Dutch War (1780 - 1784)
Previous action : Battle of Camperdown 11.10.1797


Great Britain

British Squadron, The Hon. Hugh Seymour (1759-1801)
Ship NameCommanderNotes
Prince of Wales (98) Adrian Renou (d.1805)Fleet Flagship
Invincible (74) William Cayley (1742-1801)
Tamar (38) Thomas Western
Unite (32) John Poo Beresford (1767-1844)
Syren (32) Thomas Le Marchant Gosselin (1765-1857)
Lapwing (28) Thomas Harvey (1775-1841)
Amphitrite (28) Charles Ekins
Daphne (24)  
Requin (10) William Wood Senhouse
Ship NameCommanderNotes
Daphne (24) Richard Matson (1771-1848)

Allied (Batavian Republic & République Française)

Allied Squadron
Ship NameCommanderNotes
Le Hussard (18) Marie Etienne Peltier (1762-?) Captured
Kemphaan (20)  

Notes on Action

The surrender of the Dutch colony of Surinam to a naval force under Vice-Admiral Lord Hugh Seymour, consisting of the Prince of Wales, 98 (flag), Captain Adrian Renou; Invincible, 74, Captain George William Cayley; Tamar, 38, Captain Thomas Western; Unite, 38, Captain John Poo Beresford; Syren, 32, Captain Thomas Le Marchant Gosselin; Lapwing, 28, Captain Thomas Harvey; Amphitrite, 28, Captain Charles Ekins; Daphne, 20, Captain Richard Matson; and Requin, 12, Lieutenant William Wood Senhouse, conveying troops under Lieut. General T. Trigge. The expedition sailed from Port Royal, Martinique, on July 31st, and made the coast of Surinam on August 11th. After negotiations extending over several days, a capitulation was ratified by the Dutch governor on August 20th, and on the following day the garrison of Fort Amsterdam marched out with the honours of war, and the place was taken possession of. On the 22nd other important ports, including Paramaribo, were occupied, and the whole colony, now known as Dutch Guiana, became, for the time, British. In the river Surinam were found the Dutch brig-sloop Camphaan, 16, and the French Hussard, 20 (later Surinam, 18), both of which were added to the Royal Navy, the former being provisionally commissioned by Lieutenant Richard Thwaits, and the latter by Lieutenant Christopher Cole.

Previous comments on this pageno comments to display
Make a comment about this page

Recent comments to other pages

Date postedByPage
Wednesday 24th of February 2021 16:39Patrick GrahamAmerican Privateer 'Dalton' (1776)
Tuesday 23rd of February 2021 11:31Carol Philip Affleck (1726-1799)
Monday 22nd of February 2021 22:04Marc P. Bullock John Bladen Tinker (c.1725-1767)
Friday 19th of February 2021 19:02Roger Fentiman Phineas Pett
Friday 19th of February 2021 18:54Roger FentimanBritish yacht 'Soesdyke' (1702) (8)