Action of 18 September 1639

17th September 1639 - 19th September 1639
Part of : Eighty Years War (1568 - 1648)
Previous action : Action of 18 February 1639 18th February 1639
Next action : Battle of the Downs 21st October 1639

This battle took place between 17 and 19 September 1639 when a Dutch squadron under Admiral Maarten Tromp and Admiral Witte Corneliszoon de With, met with a much larger but poorly led Spanish fleet under Antonio D'Oquendo, consisting of 40 to 45 men–of–war and 40 to 50 transport vessels filled with some 13,000 Spanish soldiers who were being transported to Dunkirk.  Tromp with 12 ships spotted the Spanish fleet on the 16th, but waited for de With to arrive with five more ships before attacking.  Despite his numerical inferiority Tromp got the upper hand in a running fight which lasted into the night.  The next day, Zeeland Commodore Joost Banckert, arrived to reinforce the Dutch with 12 more ships.  Fighting continued until the Dutch ran out of gunpowder when D'Oquendo retreated to the roadstead of the Downs hoping on English protection which would eventually lead to the Battle of the Downs, where D'Oquendo was decisively defeated and this marked the end of Spanish seapower.


Dutch Republic - Maarten Harpertszoon Tromp

Tromp's Squadron, Maarten Harpertszoon Tromp
Ship NameGunsCommanderNotes
Aemilia (46) 57Barent Barentszoon CramerFleet Flagship
Gelderland (32) 32Willem van Coulster
Frederik Hendrik (36) 36Pieter Pieterszoon de Wint
Sampson (36) 36Claesz Corneliszoon Ham
Hollandsche Tuin (32) 32Lambert Ijsbrantszoon Halffhoorn
Deventer (28) 28Robert Post
Omlandia (28) 28Jan Gerbrandszoon Eijdijck
Veere (32) 32Cornelis Ringelszoon
Salamander (40) 40Laurens Pieterszoon Bachuysen
Groote Christoffel (30) 30Frederick Pieterszoon Sunk
Gideon (14) 24Hendrik Janszoon Camp
Meermin (28) 28Jan Pouwelszoon
de With's squadron, Witte Corneliszoon de With
Ship NameGunsCommanderNotes
Maagd van Dordrecht (42) 42 Squadron Flagship
Overijssel (24) 24Jacques Forant
Utrecht (30) 30Gerrit Meyndertszoon den Uyl
Sint Laurens (32) 32Adriaan Dommertszoon
Bommel (30) 30Sybrant Barendszoon Waterdrincker
Bankert's Squadron, Joost Banckert
Ship NameGunsCommanderNotes
Middelburg (30) 30Adriaen van Trappen BanckertSquadron Flagship
Vlissingen (34) 34Frans Janszoon
Zutphen (28) 28Joris van Cats
Walcheren (28) 28Jan Teuniszoon Sluys
Wapen van Nassau (38) 38Lieve Corneliszoon de Zeeuw
Neptunus (28) 28Albert 't Jonge Hoen
Amsterdam (10) 10Barent Pieterszoon Dorrevelt
Drente (16) 10Gerrit Veen
Rotterdam (10) 10Joris Pieterszoon van den Broek
Arnemuyden (22) 22Adriaan Janszoon den Gloeyenden Oven
Ter Goes (24) 24Abraham Crijnssen
Friesland (22) 22Tjaart Rijenx de Groot

Spanish Fleet, Antonio de Oquendo
Ship NameGunsCommanderNotes



Previous comments on this pageno comments to display
Make a comment about this page

Recent comments to other pages
Date postedByPage
Thursday 27th of July 2017 11:38CyBritish Third Rate ship of the line 'Somerset' (1748) (68)
Thursday 27th of July 2017 10:21Jane Somerset TrisosBritish Third Rate ship of the line 'Somerset' (1748) (68)
Wednesday 26th of July 2017 16:02BRIAN BOUCHARDThomas Stokes
Wednesday 26th of July 2017 15:59AvMMexican schooner 'Morelos' (0000) (1)
Wednesday 26th of July 2017 15:58AvMMexican brig 'Vencedor del Álamo' (1837)