Nominal Guns36B028
NationalityKingdom of England
OperatorRoyal Navy
First Commissioned1635B028
ShipyardDeptford Dockyard - Deptford BWAS-1603
ConstructorPeter Pett (1610-1672)BWAS-1603
CategoryThird RateB028
Ship TypeShip B028
Sailing RigShip RiggedB028
BecomesFrench Third Rate ship 'L'Isabelle' (1658) (30)


DimensionMeasurementTypeMetric EquivalentB032
Length of Gundeck103' 0"Imperial Feet31.3944 
Burthen360Tons BM 
DimensionMeasurementTypeMetric EquivalentBWAS-1603
Length of Keel96' 0"Imperial Feet29.2608 
Breadth32' 2"Imperial Feet9.779 
Depth in Hold11' 7 ½"Imperial Feet3.3655 
Draught Aft12' 2"Imperial Feet3.683 
Burthen478Tons and Tonnage 
Burthen358Baker's Rule Tons 
Burthen528 3394Tons BM 

Crew Complement

Date# of MenNotesSource
1633250 B032
1642150 W015

6 Commanding Officers

1635CaptainHenry StradlingBWAS-16031636CaptainThomas KirkeBWAS-16031642CaptainThomas KettlebyW0151643CaptainThomas RainsboroughW0151645 - 1647CaptainWilliam SomasterBWAS-16035.1648 - 6.1648CaptainLeonard Harris (d.1680)BWAS-1603

Service History

1635In the ChannelBWAS-1603
1642In the Irish SeaBWAS-1603
1643In the ChannelBWAS-1603
8.1643Took the Ship Fellowship (28) at Milford, she was carrying reinforcements to the King
1647With the Western GuardBWAS-1603
6.1648Defected to the Royalists after the Kent RevoltW030


DatesFleetFleet CommanderSource
1642-1642Summer Guard of the Irish Sea 1642Thomas Kettleby 
1645-1645Summer Guard of 1645  
1645-1645Winter Guard of 1645  
1646-1646Winter Guard of 1646  

Notes on Ship

Ships defecting to the Royalists in June 1648


Previous comments on this pageno comments to display
Make a comment about this page

Recent comments to other pages

Date postedByPage
Tuesday 28th of January 2020 09:43Admiral Hawke 
Tuesday 28th of January 2020 08:22Peter GrenvilleRichard Grenville (1542-1591)
Monday 27th of January 2020 05:19John HanrahanBritish hired ship 'Increase' (1645) (36)
Thursday 23rd of January 2020 02:42Mark BiegaJohn Chilcott
Wednesday 22nd of January 2020 06:04Diana MurraySir Francis Geary (1st Baronet of Oxenheath) (1709-1796)